When “feel better” makes you feel worse

I am appreciative of the idea that people have good intentions when saying “feel better” but do they realize I have a genetic disorder that won’t “get better”. I have friend and family who say it all time and again with good intention but with a lack of knowledge to recognize that my genetic disorder won’t ever heal itself or cure itself.

The impact of hearing “feel better” for me makes me feel shitty because I will never really feel better I will just learn how to better cope with my pain and life as a patient. My collagen is defective and will never eventually work so i’ll eventually “feel better”.

For me i’d rather hear ” i am here if you need to talk” or “i am thinking of you” or ” i don’t understand what you are going through but i know you are strong and will get through it.”

Leave a Reply

